When I realized that I lost too much time trying different materials for my original idea to make it work (dissolving elephants with pendants inside) I thought of something else.

I remembered of a Chinese legend “the red string of fate”. According to this myth, the gods tie an invisible red cord around the ankles of those that are destined to meet one another in a certain situation or help each other in a certain way.

Then one thought led to the other: Greek mythology and “the thread of life”. In Greek mythology the Fates (Μοίρες) controlled the thread of life of every mortal from birth to death. There were 3 of them: Clotho, Lachesis and Atropos and they were independent sub-deities and watched that the fate assigned to every being by eternal laws might take its course without obstruction. Both Gods and men had to submit to them. In Greek μοίρα means a portion of the whole and the name of each Fate have their own meaning too:

  • Clotho was the one who spins the thread of life.
  • Lachesis was the drawer of lots and she was the one who measured the thread of life of each person.
  • Atropos the “un-turning” was the cutter of the thread.

img_20170209_0004

So I thought of using some kind of thread as my basic material to make something decorative and put inside my pendants, as a symbolism to the “thread of life” of each elephant that dies for the ivory, and the ivory products.

I’ve searched online of such decorative pieces using only threads and I found some glue yarn balls which I found interesting.

yarn-balls

img_20170209_0006

So I’ve decided to try it too using red yarn.

20170126_2007592

I first stuffed the balloons with my pendants (that part was tricky and I broke some balloons in the process) then I glued the yarn as I was wrapping it around the balloon. When it got dry I popped the balloon and I removed the pieces from the inside of each yarn ball and the pendant remained inside. I didn’t like the outcome of that idea, after I tried that because rather than yarn spheres I had yarn eggs because of the shape of the balloons I used and because I had to blow the balloon only a little in order to fit inside my box. I guess that if I blew the balloon halfway or fully it would be like a ball like the ones that I found online.

img_20170209_0007

Leave a Reply

